Syracuse Abroad program alumni awarded prestigious Goldwater Scholarship

Three Syracuse University students—Matthew Snyder, Cody VanNostrand and Jose Arturo Venegas—have been selected for the 2023 Goldwater Scholarship, the preeminent undergraduate scholarship awarded in the natural sciences, engineering and mathematics in the United States. This is the second consecutive year that Syracuse University has had three scholars selected in one year.

  • Snyder, a junior, is a psychology major in the College of Arts and Sciences (A&S) and a member of the Renée Crown University Honors Program;
  • VanNostrand, a junior, is an aerospace engineering major in the College of Engineering and Computer Science (ECS), a physics minor in A&S and a member of the Crown Honors Program, Spring 2022 Florence Center: Engineering program participant ; and
  • Venegas, a sophomore, is a civil engineering major in ECS, fall 2022 Strasbourg Center: Engineering program participant.

Learn more about Cody and Jose: 2023 Goldwater Scholars